Sweden Tour 2007, 1st part

 

Sweden Tour 2007
1st Part

 

Clicking the pictures opens a popup window with a larger one.
To close the window use the X-button..

 

 

 

A description in (a few) words and (many) pictures

 

all participants

   From May 25, 2007 to June 7, 2007 I participated in the
   Sweden Tour 2007, organized by Jeff and Kimberly Saward.

    Here we are: Sharon, Els, unknown sailor, Jeff, Kim, Erwin, Ingrid, Lisa

 

 

 

Friday, May 25, 2007: Arrival at airport Arlanda, coming from the USA, Great Britain, the Netherlands, and Germany. Travel with the chartered van to Västerås to the Quality Hotel, where we stay till Sunday. Met with John Kraft, then dinner. John gives us an overview about his work on the Swedish labyrinths (Trojeborgar).

 

Departure from Frankfurt Arriving Sweden Airport Stockholm-Arlanda Lisa and Els at Arlanda
John and Jeff Jeff and Lisa Els and Kimberly Sharon and Ingrid, Jeff and John

 

 

Sturday, May 26, 2007: We are visiting John's office, the newspaper Vestmanlands Läns Tidning in the Slottsgatan at Västerås with a pavement labyrinth in front. Then we explore Badelunda Forntidsbygd with the tallest burial mound of Sweden, the Anundshög, some shipsettings and a big runestone. The labyrinth at Tibble is nearby. We travel to Kommun Låssa in Upplands-Bro with its ceremonial road from the Viking period, some prehistoric gravefields and the Rösaring labyrinth. Visit of the Enköping labyrinth, built as replica of an old one in 1993.

Article about the Rösaring Site from Börje Sandén ... Link>

 

Our van in front of our hotel Centre of Västerås In front of the office John, Jeff and Kimberly
Anundshög John Kraft in front of the burial mound Kimberly in front of the runestone Shipsettings
Shipsettings Information about Badelunda in German Information about Badelunda in German Information about the Tibble labyrinth
Signpost to the Tibble labyrinth Stone grave at Rösaring The Enköping labyrinth The Enköping labyrinth

 

The Swedish labyrinths are mostly stone settings, therefore called field or stone labyrinths, but also Troy Town (Trojaborg in Swedish). They are laid out with stones of different sizes and can all be walked. The eldest ones are probably from the Bronze Age, the others from the Viking period.
All are following the classical design. They have 7, 11 or 15 paths. The method to build the labyrinth with the central cross, the 4 dots and the (4 ore more) angles between them was known through the centuries till our days.
There are about 300 labyrints in Sweden, the most worldwide, and the oldest and walkable labyrinths. Possibly they may be the first walkable labyrinths in history. Maybe we will also find the first idea to walk a labyrinth here, so it could be the origin and the home of this way to use a labyrinth.
The best way to keep a labyrinth alive is to walk it. It seems that this practice or this tradition will get lost in Sweden.
What would it mean if the Troy Towns (Trojeborgar) of Scandinavia would be inscribed on the UNESCO's list of the World Heritage Sites?

 

Pattern Tibble labyrinth Pattern Rösaring labyrinth Pattern Enköping labyrinth

 

Pictures from the labyrinths in the photo gallery under

Västerås >

Tibble >

Rösaring >

Enköping >

Grinstad >

 

 

Sunday, May 27, 2007: Departure to the west coast, to the northern Bohuslän, near the border with Norway. On the way we stop at Grinstad, to visit the only ancient example of the "Medieval" design on a wall painting in the church there. Unfortunately the church is closed and we can not find anyone with the key. In the evening we arrive at the Hotel Vinbäck in Tanumshede, where we will stay till Thursday. For dinner we are driving to Grebbestad.

 

Inside the Quality Hotel Västerås Inside the Quality Hotel Västerås Ingrid before the departure Els with a cyclist from the Netherlands
Gravestone on the cemetery of Grinstad In the harbour of Grebbestad Fishing-boat Sailing-boat
Inside a room at the Vinbäck Hotel Inside a room at the Vinbäck Hotel Inside a bath-room at the Vinbäck Hotel Looking outside

 

 

 

 

Home

Schweden-Tour 2007, 1. Teil

 

Schweden-Tour 2007
1. Teil

 

Anklicken der Bilder öffnet ein Pop-up-Fenster mit größerem Bild.
Schließen mit der X-Schaltfläche..

 

 

 

Ein Bericht in (wenigen) Worten und (vielen) Bildern

 

 

alle Teilnehmer

    Vom 25. Mai 2007 bis 7. Juni 2007 war ich Teilnehmer an der
    Schweden-Tour 2007, organisiert von Jeff und Kimberly Saward.

    Hier: Sharon, Els, unbek. Seemann, Jeff, Kim, Erwin, Ingrid, Lisa

 

 

 

Freitag, 25. Mai 2007: Ankunft auf dem Flughafen Arlanda aus den USA, England, Holland und Deutschland. Weiterfahrt mit dem gecharterten Bus nach Västerås zum Quality Hotel, wo wir bis Sonntag bleiben werden. Abendessen und Zusammentreffen mit John Kraft. Er gibt uns eine Einführung in seine Arbeit über die schwedischen Trojaburgen.

Zu empfehlen: Das Buch von John Kraft "Die Göttin im Labyrinth" ... mehr dazu hier

 

Start in Frankfurt Ankunft in Schweden Flughafen Arlanda, nördlich von Stockholm Lisa und Els in Arlanda
John und Jeff Jeff und Lisa Els und Kimberly Sharon und Ingrid, Jeff und John

 

 

Samstag, 26. Mai 2007: Wir besuchen Johns Arbeitsstätte, die Zeitung Vestmanlands Läns Tidning in der Slottsgatan in Västerås mit einem Pflaster-Labyrinth davor. Dann Besichtigung von Badelunda Forntidsbygd mit dem größten Grabhügel Schwedens Anundshög, einigen Schiffssetzungen und einem großen Runenstein. Das Labyrinth von Tibble liegt ganz nahe. Weiterfahrt zur Kommun Låssa in Upplands-Bro mit dem Prozessionsweg aus der Wikingerzeit, einigen prähistorischen Hügelgräbern und dem Labyrinth von Rösaring. Besuch des Labyrinths von Enköping, einem Nachbau aus dem Jahr 1993.

Berichte (in englisch) über die Anlage von Rösaring von Börje Sandén ... Link>

 

Unser Bus vor dem Hotel Zentrum von Västerås Vor dem Zeitungsgebäude John, Jeff und Kimberly
Anundshög John Kraft vor dem Grabhügel Kimberly vor dem Runenstein Steinsetzung in Schiffsform
Steinsetzung in Schiffsform Hinweistafel zu Badelunda Hinweistafel zum Labyrinth von Tibble Hinweistafel zum Labyrinth von Tibble
Wegweiser zum Labyrinth von Tibble Steingrab in Rösaring Das Labyrinth in Enköping Das Labyrinth in Enköping

 

Die schwedischen Labyrinthe sind im wesentlichen Steinsetzungen, sie werden daher Feld- oder Steinlabyrinthe genannt, aber auch Trojaburgen. Sie sind aus faust- bis kopfgroßen Natursteinen gelegt und alle begehbar. Die ältesten stammen vermutlich aus der Bronzezeit, die späteren aus der Wikingerzeit.
Alle folgen dem klassischem Muster. Sie haben 7, 11 oder 15 Umgänge. Die Methode der Labyrinthkonstruktion mit dem zentralen Kreuz, den vier Punkten und den (vier oder mehr) Winkeln dazwischen war über Jahrhunderte bekannt und hat sich erhalten bis heute.
Schweden hat mit etwa 300 die meisten und ältesten begehbare Labyrinthe weltweit, wenn nicht sogar die ersten begehbaren überhaupt. Die Idee ein Labyrinth zu gehen, hat also möglicherweise hier ihren Ursprung und ihre Heimat.
Der beste Weg ein Labyrinth zu erhalten, ist, es zu gehen. Und dieser Brauch oder diese Tradition drohen in Schweden verloren zu gehen.
Wie wäre es mit einer Aufnahme der Trojaburgen Skandinaviens in die Weltkulturerbeliste der UNESCO?

 

Prinzipzeichnung Tibble Prinzipzeichnung Rösaring Prinzipzeichnung Enköping

 

Fotos von den Labyrinthen in der Fotogalerie unter

Västerås >

Tibble >

Rösaring >

Enköping >

Grinstad >

 

 

Sonntag, 27. Mai 2007: Abfahrt zur Westküste, zum nördlichen Bohuslän, nahe der norwegischen Grenze.  Unterwegs Zwischenstopp in Grinstad, wo in einer Kirche das einzige mittelalterliche Labyrinth Skandinaviens als Wandbild zu sehen ist.  Leider ist die Kirche geschlossen und wir können auch niemanden mit dem Schlüssel finden. Abends Ankunft im Hotel Vinbäck in Tanumshede, wo wir bis Donnerstag bleiben werden. Zum Abendessen fahren wir nach Grebbestad.

 

Hotelhalle im Quality Hotel Västerås Hotelhalle im Quality Hotel Västerås Ingrid bei der Abreise Els mit einem holländischen Radfahrer in Grinstad
Grabkreuz im Friedhof von Grinstad Im Hafen von Grebbestad Fischerboot Segelboot
Zimmer im Hotel Vinbäck in Tanumshede Zimmer im Hotel Vinbäck in Tanumshede Bad im Hotel Vinbäck in Tanumshede Ausblick im Hotel Vinbäck in Tanumshede

 

 

 

 

Home